header

Shipsurance©

User's Ratings

Price
Service
Claims Handling

Shipsurance Insurance Services, Inc.©, previously Discount Shipping Insurance (DSI), is a private shipping insurance provider. They provide coverage for shipments sent via the major shipping carriers at a greatly reduced rate; often more than 90% off of the carrier rates.

Shipping Insurance
Shipsurance© offers shipping insurance and cargo insurance to all size shippers. They allow low volume shippers to insure with them via their website on a one-by-one basis. Volume shippers can sign up for open coverage and insure all their shipments at a greater discount. Coverage is offered from Lloyds of London©. They also offer coverage through InsurePost.com.

They provide a proprietary reporting software called “eReport” free of charge to their customers. This software allows for electronic reporting with UPS© Worldship©, FedEx© Ship Manager©, Stamps.com©, Endicia© Dazzle, and eBay©.

Pricing
Rates are typically 50%-90% less that the shipping carrier rates.

Benefits

  • Large cost savings
  • Offers actual insurance coverage.
  • Covers all carriers.
  • Claims processed within one week
  • Paperless claims process.
  • Integrated with most shipping systems.
  • Automated “eReport” software suite.
  • Open API for reporting.

Disadvantages

  • Certain items are not allowed to be covered.
  • Certain destination countries are not available for coverage.
  • Separate bill for insurance vs. the carriers.

www.shipsurance.com


Shipsurance©4.778409090909188
Private Shipping InsurersShipsurance©Shipsurance Insurance Services, Inc.©, previously Discount Shipping Insurance (DSI), is a private shipping insurance provider. They provide coverage …

User's Ratings
Price
Service
Claims Handling
84 positive — 4 negative


120 Reviews for “Shipsurance©”

  1. Ron says:
    February 23rd, 2019 at 10:12 am

    Very helpful when item was lost in mail on an International sale. Thank you for great service.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative

  2. Esther says:
    April 20th, 2018 at 11:08 am

    I recently filed a claim on an item which I sold online. It was slightly damaged during shipping. The paperwork was processed quickly and the claim was paid within a week. I know I will for sure continue to purchase insurance from them.
    Excellent service and fair rate. Where else should I go?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Juan Rodriguez says:
    March 13th, 2018 at 7:01 am

    Shipsurance is the ABSOLUTE BEST. I’ve had to file Insurance claims with USPS, GlobalPost and UPS. Just the other day I had an issue with something I shipped via GlobalPost. I didn’t buy Shipsurance on that package because GP said they insure everything up to $100.00. At any rate the package got lost in Brazil. GlobalPost asked me to fill out a form and have the customer sign it. The customer couldn’t understand the Paperwork, so I had to “make” another form in Portugese (using Google Translater), but explained to the customer that I needed them to fill out the “English” form, since that’s the only one GlobalPost would accept. The customer tried to send it back to me with an Electronic Signature, but GlobalPost said he needed to print it out and physically sign it. He didn’t have a printer! In the end I couldn’t file the claim with GlobalPost, so their Insurance is completely useless!
    Compare that with Shipsurance. When a Package on it’s way to Italy was lost, They sent me a link with some info to fill out. Once that was done, they sent another link for the customer to fill out (all online so easily translated to other languages) Customer filled out her part and that was it. Within about a week, everything was deposited back in my Paypal account. Including cost of shipping, insurance and the Retail of what the item sold for!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive

  4. Susan Street says:
    March 9th, 2018 at 1:41 pm

    They pay all of my claims promptly. When I have had to contact them, the service has always been professional and courteous. I highly recommend Shipsurance Insurance Services. I have been using them for years, and they have saved me thousands of dollars on packages that were lost or damaged.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive

  5. michelle says:
    November 14th, 2017 at 2:33 pm

    VP Mr. Shmorak and his staff are absolutely the best at providing tip-top customer service. I sell high end collectibles and there is always a chance an item can be damaged during transit – I can always rest assured that I am covered 100%! I have been with Shipsurance for God knows how long (a long time) and I would NEVER insure through ups or usps again. This is absolutely the best solution for both small and large business who need insurance during shipping. Thank you Mr. Shmorak for your Platinum customer service – nothing but the best found here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Kennie Christie says:
    September 28th, 2017 at 11:22 pm

    I had three claims filed with Shipsurance. I was surprised that they processed and paid all 3 claims in just 2 days. I am waiting for my checks to come through. Hopefully it should not take long. I am really impressed with their service. Also, they have minimal waiting time when you call in which is a huge plus for me.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive

  7. Paul S. says:
    August 22nd, 2017 at 8:58 am

    Shipsurance has been a great option for our firm. Low premiums and fair, fast claims handling. We ship about 500 packages per month with most of the insured. We are happy to not deal with the carriers anymore.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  8. John says:
    July 27th, 2017 at 4:05 am

    On the 2 different occasions that I had a legitimate claim with Shipsurance, they would not pay. If you have to file a claim with these scumbags, they will try to make you jump through a 1000 ridiculous hoops until you finally just give up. It’s SAD, and it’s been going on for many many years.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 2 negative

  9. james adams says:
    December 9th, 2015 at 7:09 am

    howdy, i was not lucky as most. my shipper used shipsurance. i thought i was buying insurance for safe delivery of item. it was damaged badly. i had to get estimates of parts and pieces. assuming the buyer was going to restore it. both estimates were 334 and 335. i got 234 and nothing for labor on assumed restoration. my check was over 2 months out. i guess i was just special.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 7 positive

  10. Michael Velasquez says:
    February 24th, 2015 at 11:12 am

    AMAZING SERVICE!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 8 negative

  11. Marcia Fanta says:
    February 20th, 2015 at 11:23 am

    Great service, however, I would prefer payment in check as Papal payment costs me Paypal fees!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 3 negative

  12. Rick Andrews says:
    February 1st, 2015 at 7:54 am

    Great company. Fast, professional handling and reasonable rates. Easily recommend to all small item shippers (my only experience). I have used them for many years and had ZERO problems. Glad their services are available. They make the USPS look like a bunch of thugs!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 negative

  13. Ken says:
    January 23rd, 2015 at 11:26 am

    We filed a claim on the 16th, and got a response (and approval) on the 23rd. Amazing! We were a bit skeptical at first to use Shipsurance because of previous experience with USPS insurance (where the chances of getting an approved claim is somewhere near 0.01%), but they are on a whole different level. The process is simple, electronically transmitted, and takes about 5-10 minutes to fill out all the information per claim.

    Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 5 positive, 1 negative

  14. Casie says:
    January 5th, 2015 at 11:48 am

    Shipsurance is always fast, easy to do, friendly, and fair. I no longer dread having to make an insurance claim. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 2 negative

  15. Mark McCloskey says:
    November 14th, 2014 at 10:56 am

    I am a relatively new Shipsurance customer and have been very impressed with the service they provide. I ship a lot of fragile items and had my first item damaged in transport last week. The claim process was simple and the agent that worked with my claim, Vanessa, was very helpful and the claim was accepted and processed in less than a week. Nothing but good things to say about Shipsurance!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 2 negative

  16. Rich says:
    August 29th, 2014 at 10:22 am

    Very satisfied with Shipsurance. I have been using them for a couple years and recently found that a package I shipped with FedEx was to the best of my knowledge dropped out of a plane to my customer’s front door. I was a bit weary as I had not had to file a claim previously. The claim process was quick and customer service very helpful and of course best of all the claim was paid!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive, 1 negative

  17. Rick Yerke says:
    June 14th, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    Paid claim for lost package to Hong Kong with no problems.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive

  18. joseph cook says:
    May 24th, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    WOW-what a pleasant surprise this company is. I filed a claim with them for the first time about a week ago. I was a little unclear how to do it so I sent an email for instructions. I got an answer back the very next day and Mia was absolutely wonderful with her reply. She was very very helpful. My claim was settled in one week and my money was deposited into my paypal account. I cant say how happy I am about this-the post office has been breaking my stuff for years and NEVER honored my claims, although after the first two or three I didn’t even bother to file them anymore. Its Shipsurance for me from now on !!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive, 1 negative

  19. Rose says:
    May 9th, 2014 at 11:29 am

    This Company is nothing short of AWESOME in the way they handle & dispose of Claims! Never seen another Insurance Company that could have so much ‘attention to detail’, and I’m no Spring Chicken! Love you people, Rose

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 negative

  20. Beth says:
    May 7th, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    I have been using Shipsurance for a number of years. They have always been professional and friendly when answering questions. When I have had to file a claim, there has never been a problem or a hassle. I am very pleasantly surprised with this company. Thanks so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 3 negative

  21. Robert L says:
    April 28th, 2014 at 11:24 am

    Using Auctiva that has Shipsurance as their insurer is absolutely terrific!
    Why use Shipsurance?
    Lets compare:
    1. Lower fees VS. USPS insurance.
    2. Shipsurance covers First Class VS. USPS NO insurance option
    3. Covers all International VS. USPS limited coverage
    4. Shipsurance insurance claims system in integrated with Auctiva/Ebay so filing a claim is so simple, all required fields are already done for you, just few details need to be complete.
    5. Shipsurance quick claim filing(all done electronically) VS. USPS ITS ALL PAPERWORK (International form 1000) that needs to be filled by hand then sent via fax or Snailmail!
    6. Customer service is so available via email, voice, chat VS. USPS where on average you are put on hold up to 45 minutes!
    7. Shipsurance processing of a claim from filing to receiving a check usually is complete in few days (given you provide proper documentation in a timely matter, and you meet all qualifications)
    VS. USPS – I filed 2 International cases in the mid of January 2014, its mid April 2014, and I am still waiting for reimbursement!

    BOTTOM LINE:
    I am a Powerseller on Ebay, and I don’t have time to be on the phone for dozens of minutes per claim (international claims), filling hand written forms, going constantly to Post Office buying more stamps and sending each claim via snailmail, waiting for a claim check for months without straightforward updates. Shipsurance allows me to waste as little time as possible if a claim needs to be made so I can focus what I do best; is to sell!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive

  22. Carol Bailey says:
    March 28th, 2014 at 11:05 am

    EXCELLENT! Describes the type of service one can come to expect when dealing with this Company! Always Friendly, Fast, so much faster and hassle free than having to deal with the USPS insurance. Quick Pay-out and they are always helpful! I have had to deal with several times and am always amazed that a Company can be so customer oriented. No automation here! Many Companies out there, that could use Ship-Insurance as a Role Model to achieve Happy Customers! Thank-YOU!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Anne says:
    March 1st, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Superb service!! Glad I found this insurance!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 negative

  24. Brett says:
    February 28th, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    I’ve only needed to use Shipsurance twice in the last few years,but both times my claims have been reviewed and paid quickly with minimal hassle to myself or my buyer.I have had only positive experiences with Shipsurance’s reasonable rates+ great customer service.I highly recommend this service for anyone shipping multiple items with USPS.
    Thanks Shipsurance!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative

  25. Linda says:
    January 10th, 2014 at 10:32 am

    Claim was paid very timely

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 negative

  26. George Dimitroff says:
    October 12th, 2013 at 6:51 am

    I have been using Shipsurance for 10 years now. I cannot say enough about this company, very professional and courteous. I ship a lot of stuff (8000) packages a year)and I save about $8-9,000.00 a year in insurance costs compared to using usps. I am very thankful for you guys. I have recommended you to literally more than 200 sellers over the past 10 years. I have had to file 2 claims and everything went seamlessly. Thank you very much. One very satisfied customer. Thanks Shipsurance.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 2 negative

  27. Phil says:
    October 9th, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    Shipsurance is great. My business saves on coverage and they actually cover my packages! I have the occasional claim and they are quick and professional. Unlike Stamps.com insurance, they are actually good people!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. Rob says:
    October 7th, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    Shipsurance *****. I have been shipping packages for 16 years now. Get away from this company. They are so unprofessional. They might be cheaper but they make it so hard to file a claim most people just give up. again, stay away from this company

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 2 negative

  29. Steve says:
    September 18th, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Shipsurance has paid 5 claims so far for me. That is great, but the $1355 I saved last year alone is a god send. I also just found this great article that referenced them: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ilana-greene/shipping-insurance-little_b_3781962.html

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  30. mark anderson says:
    July 13th, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    This claim was paid despite the fact the the buyer did not respond to required questionnaire. I appreciate the personal attention to my request for payment and consideration of special circumstances

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  31. Brad says:
    July 6th, 2013 at 8:55 am

    This was my first claim after using Shipsurance for about a year for my eBay sales. Claim was paid quickly, about 1-1/2 weeks. Only problem I had was with my buyer (from a foreign country) in getting him to understand that he had to fill out the online affidavit! Finally that was done and all worked out well.

    Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  32. Sharon says:
    June 9th, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    My experience with Shipsurance was fantastic. Getting the insurance has always been easy, but I did not know how well the claims process would be until I filed one. And it went incredibly smoothly and I was paid almost immediately. Very pleased!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  33. Lisa Romig says:
    May 25th, 2013 at 10:05 am

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    This was the first claim I’ve submitted and it was a wonderful experience. It was an overseas claim so I expected it to take a while. Much to my delight, the claim was paid within 2 days of paperwork being submitted. I highly recommend this company to all!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling
  34. B.K. RAO says:
    May 10th, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    Professional and courteous service. Better rates than the USPS. Quick resolution of claims. Will continue to use for all of my eBay shipments. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling
  35. Roger Sorenson says:
    March 25th, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    Overall, a very pleasant and straightforward process. A real plus was having people on the phone that I could understand! I will continue to use them exclusively for my eBay insurance needs. My rule is, anything over $15.00 must have insurance. I definitely will not hesitate to recommend them to other sellers as a preferable option to USPS insurance. Thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling
  36. Cat's Magical Shoppe says:
    March 12th, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    I know that seems like a total misnomer to state “great insurance company”, but it is true. We had a fantastic experience with an insurance company! We’ve had some bad experiences in the past with insurance carriers (who hasn’t?) so we were prepared for a typical wait and rejection when we had to file a claim. Much to our surprise, the claim was settled within 72 hours! What a pleasant shock!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling
  37. george says:
    February 8th, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    GREAT!!! Very quick service. (approx 1 week from start to finish) There is a little bit of paperwork and pictures to submit, but everything can be done via email and works well. I had a very cooperative customer, which helps the process moving smoothly. I can’t say enough how pleased I was with the process. I hope never to have to use the service again, because that means everything arrived and arrived safely. But quite confident that they will be here if I need them.
    Thanks again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 negative

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling
  38. Linda McCarthy says:
    February 8th, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    Claim forms were user friendly. Claim was processed quickly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 negative

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling
  39. IRONICK29 FROM SSB says:
    January 20th, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    OUTSTANDING COMPANY! I FILED A CLAIM FOR USPS FIRST CLASS INTERNATIONAL FOR A LOST PACKAGE TO CHILE. IT WAS A RATHER LARGE CLAIM FILED. I FILED ON A MONDAY AND RECEIVED THE “FULL” PAYMENT IN MY PAY PAL ACCOUNT ON THE FOLLOWING FRIDAY. THE REQUIRED FORMS, AND DOC’S WERE REASONABLE, AND EASY TO FILL OUT. VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE REPS – ABSOLUTELY NO HASSLES, STRESS AND “NO TYPE” OF INSURANCE COMPANY B.S. MY CUSTOMER WAS IMPRESSED AND HAPPY TOO. THANKS SHIPSURANCE ! RON – SSB USER

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 1 negative

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling
  40. William Fee says:
    January 11th, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

    Hi I filed claim on 12/21.But then buyer didn’t send needed photos till 17 days later.Once she did, your team was very polite, helpful and prompt in completing claim.I will let other’s know how reliable your Co is.Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive

    Price
    Service
    Claims Handling

Review this Company

Your Review:

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Service
Claims Handling